Hopes and Despair

I am up every morning,

Along with the sun,

With wishes in me rising,

Ones I do not shun.

The sun is up high,

Scorching its heat,

And I prepare to try,

Dreams that are incomplete.

I go till the sun shines,

Doing all I can,

Tracing all the lines,

That fulfill my plan.

Then comes the twilight,

The energy is all gone.

To myself I recite,

Where I went wrong.

This dusk lowers my spirit,

It goes down with the sun,

Hopes that once shone bright,

Only despair now run.

The night now falls,

And I am drained,

Then I sit and recall,

All that I obtained.

Back into my bed,

I lie down quietly,

Jot down what to do ahead,

In my mind silently.

A new day will come,

I will have another chance,

Will try not to be glum,

Forward I will advance.

7 thoughts on “Hopes and Despair

Leave a comment